daily calendar

This page will help you keep track of what was covered in class each day....... use this page especially when you are absent to catch up!

 

 

Post ap exam - debates! field trip and Stanford visit

May 11 - exam!

Apr 30 - May 5

Chp 35 - 39 - Plant Unit

Apr 22 - 26 - review session this Saturday

Chps 47,48,49 - quizzes, national geographic reading and lecture notes

Apr 9 - Happy Spring Break!

Chp 46 - reproduction and quiz on chp 44 and 45

Apr 7 -

Chp 44 - regulation of nephron function, chp 45, and chp 46

Apr 3

Blood pressure lab

Apr 1

Duck dissection and the day when your teacher could NOT teach excretory system regulation:)

Mar 30 - Monday

1) Chp 44 - Osmoregulation

Mar 26 - Thursday

1) Quiz on chp 43 - Immune system; 2) Chp 44 - Regulation of temperature

Mar 24 - tuesday

1) Quiz on Chp 42; Immune system - chp 43

Mar 20 - Friday

1) Chp 42 - completed - gene/muscle doping article submission 2) Chp 43 - immune system introduction

Mar 18 - Wednesday

Chp 41 - quiz and Chp 42 - Circulation; video of heart structure, heart sounds

Mar 16 - Monday (minimum day)

1) Chp 41 - notes 2) Diversity project submissions and interviews

Mar 12 - Thursday

1) M and M chi square lab simulation and radioactive dating 2) Chp 41 - Animal nutrition

Mar 10 - Tuesday

1) Unit test on Diversity 2) Activity - planaria regeneration, hydra observation

Mar 5 - Friday

1) Chp 33, 34

Mar 4 - Wednesday

Chp 31,32, 33

Mar 2 - Monday

1) Chp 29, 30, 31

Feb 26 - Thursday

1) Chp 28, 29

Feb 24 - Tuesday

1) Daily quizzes on diversity begins; 2) Chp 27, 28 - diversity treasure hunt begins...

Feb 15 - Feb 22 - President's week

Feb 12 - Friday

1) Review of lab 2) Chp 26, 27

Feb 10 - Wedensday

1) Bacterial transformation lab

Feb 8 - Monday

1) Courtship behavior and determining genetics of Nasonia - lab 2) chp 25, 26 - started in class

Feb 4 - Thursday

1) Lab review 2) Chp 24, 25 - Cichlids of Maiwa video

Feb 2 - Tuesday

1) Hardy Weinberg lab - microevolution in action

Jan 30 - Friday - Blood drive - lab postponed

1) Complete Chp 23; Intro Chp 24 - Macroevolution

Jan 28 - Wednesday

1) Complete Chp 22; Chp 23 - Microevolution intro

Jan 26 - Monday

1) Chp 22 - reading from Newsweek - Is Lamarck back?

Jan 12 - 14 - Unit 3 completed and review for final

Jan 6 and 8 - Tues and Thu

Unit test review and test with sub

Dec 20 - Friday

1) Quiz - chp 16, 17, 18; chp 19 - completed

Dec 18 - Wednesday

1) Scientific American Article - "Junk DNA" and eukayotic gene regulation

Dec 16- Monday

1) Chp 18 - Discussion of Sci Am article - Are viruses alive?

Dec 13 - Special after school class - Chp 17

Dec 11 - Thursday

1) Chp 16 continued - make up session for assembly students

Dec 9 - Tuesday

1) Chapter 16 - leading lagging strand synthesis modelling

Dec 5 - Friday

1) Chp 15 notes continued 2) Genetics disease brochure display

Dec 3 - Wednesday

1) Quiz on Chp 14; graded in class 2) Chp 15 notes

Dec 1 - Monday

1) Review of quiz 2) Chp 14 - complete notes

Nov 23 - Monday

1) Mitosis and Meiosis quiz; Chp 14 - Mendelian genetics and problem solving

Nov 20 - Thurssday

1) Chp 13 completed - drawing of all stages and organizer for difference between mitosis and meiosis

Nov 18 - Tuesday

1) Chp 12 completed 2) Chp 13 - Meiosis - sex and its cost vs benefits discussion

Nov 14 - Friday

1) Unit 2 exam (minimum day)

Nov 12 - Wednesday

1) Chp 12 - Mitosis - article reading, one stray Kagan activity; bead simulation; powerpoint notes

Nov 6- Thursday (long weekend)

1) Photosynthesis lab - parts 1 and 3

Nov 4 - Tuesday - Election day!

1) Review of cell resp lab analysis and class data 2) Notes - photosynthesis completed 3) Quiz - chp 9 and 10

Oct 31 - Friday - Halloween party!

1) Cell respiration lab using peas - crickets will be done later

Oct 29 - Wednesday

1) Chp 10 - photosynthesis notes 2) Introduction and discussion cell respiration prelab and analysis of veggie core results

Oct 27 - Monday

1) Chp 9 notes - completed upto fermentation

Oct 24 - Thursday

1) Dialysis part 2 prelab review, setting up experiment 2) Veggie core hypothesis and lab setup 3) Chp 9 - cell respiration notes

Oct 21 - Tuesday

1) Chapter 11 - cell communication and article review discussion 2) Dialysis demo and prelab review

Oct 17, Friday (you have a sub!)

1) Superquiz on chp 7 and 8 2) Work on making notes for chp 9

Oct 15, Wednesday

1) Chp 8 - water potential problems 2) Chp 8 and 11 powerpoints - epinephrine as a Case study

Oct 13, Monday

1) Chp 8 powerpoint 2) Water potential - the concept and problems

Oct 9, Thursday

1) Chp 7 and 8 powerpoint Oct 7, Tuesday

1) Unit 1 test, free response 2) Cell powerpoint 3) Instructions for enzyme lab

Oct 3, Friday

1) Discussion of toothpickase lab, prelab for lactase - demo lactase action 2) Chp 7 - Cell - Minimum day!

Oct 1, Wednesday

1) Macromolecule quiz 2) Chp 6 powerpoint- factors2) Toothpickase lab

Sep 29, Monday

1) Chp 6 powerpoint 2) Mcromolecule review

Sept 25, Thursday

1) DNA spooling 2) Chp 5 powerpoint completed - nucleotides

Sept 23, Tuesday

1) Macromolecule lab

Sept 19, Friday

1) Macromolecule lab intro - deciding the controls to bring 2) Chp 5 notes

Sept 17, Wednesday

1) Functional groups quiz 2) Lab report peer review 3) Chp 2 notes

Sept 15, Monday

1) Test - Unit 8 2) Chp 4 and 1 - functional groups INDEX CARD!

Sept 11, Thurssday

1) Chp 53/54 notes 2) Peer review - results and discussion sections of lab report

Sept 9, Tuesday

1) Review - how rubrics are used to evaluate AP Bio free response essays - HW analysis 2) How to use Excel for data tables, t tests, standard error bars, graphing 3) Chp 52/53 notes

Sept 5, Friday

1) Lab report guidelines for title, abstract, introduction, design, m and m 2) Chp 50, 52 - powerpoint

Sept 3, Wednesday

1) Introduced species HW and reading evaluation
2) AP Lab 11 - test runs and protocol finalization.

Aug 29, Friday

1) Article - tweaking genetics of Behavior - discussion/evaluation of review
2) Unit 8 - Chp 51, Chp 50 powerpoint

Aug 27, Wednesday

1) Prelab review and oral presentations
2) Quiz - Sci. Method vocabulary
3) Unit 8 - Chp 51 powerpoint

Aug 25, Monday

1) Summer reading recap and pre-assessment of designing a lab using an example from the reading
2) Scientific Method powerpoint - (labs page)
3) Writing if-then-when hypothesis statements and a prelab for AP Bio (labs page)

 


Get this widget!